chicken with rosemary, garlic, lemon flavor notes

Penning a post about food hungry is probably not the best idea. But, here goes…inspiration, perhaps?

I tried my hand at your green soup recipe last weekend. The aroma filled my small kitchen. I served it with fresh buttered naan. A definite win.

So, this simple chicken roast recipe is a compromise for people in the bold flavor camp (eh hem, yours truly), and those who prefer a softer touch on their taste buds. I’m making it tonight for my little sister’s visit to New Haven. It’s rare for me to repeat the same recipe in two weeks, but I had rosemary and white wine leftover from the first round, and you know how I feel about wastage. Plus, this one–with no advance prep and undiluted taste–is a keeper.

Modified from Rachel Ray on Food Network (four stars, 500 reviews).

You will need:

  • 1 pounds bone-in chicken thigh
  • 3 cloves garlic, cut into large chunks
  • a whole bunch of fresh rosemary leaves stripped from stems (note: quantity depends on how intense you want this flavor)
  • 1.5 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 lemon, zested and juiced (note: currently in a kitchen that lacks a zester. I’ve taken to peeling the skin and then slicing thinly)
  • Coarse salt and black pepper, to taste
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine

To do:

  • Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.
  • Place chicken in a 9×13 baking dish (note: cover in aluminum foil for easy clean-up).
  • Coat chicken generously with marinade ingredients: garlic, rosemary, extra-virgin olive oil, lemon zest and salt and pepper.
  • Roast 20 minutes.
  • Add wine and lemon juice to the dish and combine with pan juices. Return to oven and turn oven off. Let stand 5 minutes longer then remove chicken from the oven. (note: I find this last step is critical to getting just the right level of juiciness).

I recommend thawing the chicken overnight to really get the best bird for this dish.

Leave a comment